»TROY – 30 years of Die Fantastischen Vier«  

Retrospektive

 
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60649
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60485
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60500
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60645
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60793
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60495
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60488
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy_60433
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60473
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60467
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-0718

»TROY – 30 years of Die Fantastischen Vier«

Retrospektive

»TROY – 30 Years of Die Fantastischen Vier« is the name of a special exhibition hosted at the StadtPalais Stuttgart. And it’s under this banner that the pioneers of German hip hop are returning to their Swabian roots. Developed in close collaboration with the four artists themselves, the resulting exhibition combines a retrospective of Fanta4's work with scenographic installations of select pieces.

The exhibition begins at the exact place where the history of Die Fantastischen Vier itself began: In the childhood bedroom of And.Ypsilon. The first in five dioramas, crafted with help from the artist himself, creates the ultimate Die Fantastischen Vier vibe – the perfect prelude to the chronological and theatrical exhibition still to come.

The centerpiece of the exhibition derives its shape from further four dioramas, room-sized showcases into which one can step – all inspired by famous music videos of the band. Among the four ‚walk-in videos‘ are »Die Da!«, »Mit freundlichen Grüßen«, »Tag am Meer« and »Sie ist weg«. Visitors entering the diorama of »Die da!« will have the chance to dress up in the style of the nineties and can take a seat at the wheel of the Trabbi shown in the very video clip. They enter the showcases like living paintings in a gallery and dive into different immersive worlds. The interactive nature of each diorama naturally makes the visitor part of the artwork whilst creating a totally personalized Fanta 4 experience at the same time.

In stark contrast to the artistic drama inside the dioramas, outside they are deliberately not decorated—staged instead to appear as backdrops. Together with their surrounding exhibition space and exhibits, an interesting dichotomy is created between the museum effect on the outside and the artistic, immersive diorama experience on the inside.

Client

Stadt Stuttgart

Location

Stuttgart

Year

2019

involved parties

Graphics: i_dbuero

Photography

Jens Lyncker

»TROY – 30 Jahre Die Fantastischen Vier«  

Retrospektive

 
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60649
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60485
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60500
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60645
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60793
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60495
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60488
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy_60433
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60473
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-60467
  • jangled-nerves_Fanta-4_Troy-0718

»TROY – 30 Jahre Die Fantastischen Vier«

Retrospektive

Mit der Sonderausstellung »TROY – 30 Jahre Die Fantastischen Vier« im StadtPalais Stuttgart kehren die Pioniere des deutschen Hip-Hops zurück zu ihren schwäbischen Wurzeln. Die in enger Abstimmung mit den vier Künstlern entwickelte Ausstellung vereint eine Retrospektive auf das Werk der Fanta 4 mit einer szenografischen Inszenierung ausgewählter Stücke der Gruppe.



Die Ausstellung beginnt da, wo auch die Geschichte der Fantastischen Vier ihren Anfang nimmt: Im Kinderzimmer von And.Ypsilon. Das mit Hilfe des Künstlers erschaffene erste von fünf Dioramen stimmt den Besucher atmosphärisch auf die Fantastischen Vier ein und bildet den chronologischen und inszenatorischen Auftakt der Ausstellung.


Den Kern der Ausstellung bilden weitere vier Dioramen, zimmergroße Schaukästen, in die man hineinsteigen kann – alle inspiriert durch berühmte Musikvideos der Band. Zu den vier begehbaren Videos gehören »Die da?!« »Tag am Meer« »Sie ist weg« und »MfG«. Besucher können sich im Diorama zu „Die da?!« im Stil der Neunziger verkleiden und in den Trabbi aus dem Video setzen. Sie betreten die Schaukästen wie lebendige Gemälde in einer Galerie und tauchen in verschiedene immersive Welten ein. Durch diese interaktive Art der Inszenierung werden TROY-Besucher zum Teil der künstlerischen Interpretation der einzelnen Stücke und schaffen sich so gleichzeitig ihre ganz persönlichen Fanta 4-Erlebnisse.


Kontrastiert wird die künstlerische Inszenierung im Inneren durch die bewusst nicht verkleideten, kulissenartigen Rückseiten der Dioramen. Zusammen mit dem auf Exponate fokussierenden umlaufenden Ausstellungsbereich ergibt sich eine spannende Dichotomie zwischen der emotionalen, musealen Inszenierung außen und dem künstlerischen, immersiven Dioramen Erlebnis innen.

Auftraggeber

Stadt Stuttgart

Ort

Stuttgart

Jahr

2019

Projektbeteiligte

Grafik: i_dbuero

Fotografie

Jens Lyncker