CES Las Vegas 2020  

Mercedes-Benz »VISION AVTR«

 
  • mb_ces2020_017
  • mb_ces2020_012
  • mb_ces2020_22
  • mb_ces2020_011
  • mb_ces2020_015
  • mb_ces2020_045
  • mb_ces2020_051
  • mb_ces2020_069
  • mb_ces2020_016
  • mb_ces2020_21
  • mb_ces2020_085
  • mb_ces2020_019

CES Las Vegas 2020

Mercedes-Benz »VISION AVTR«

jangled nerves was asked to design the trade fair presence for Mercedes-Benz at CES in Las Vegas for the sixth time in a row. At a trade fair renowned for showcasing innovative, breakthrough technologies, the presentation of pioneering concept vehicle VISION AVTR effectively bridged the gap between consumer electronics and automotive topics. Media and attendee interest in the car developed by Mercedes-Benz chief design officer Gorden Wagener, his team and a Disney crew was extremely high. While CES was still running, the stand received a host of best-in-show awards, including awards from US tech portals Engadget, ShlashGear and GeekSpin.

 

The VISION AVTR embodies the vision of Mercedes-Benz designers, engineers and trend researchers for the mobility of the future. Moreover, the high-tech vehicle, inspired by Hollywood director James Cameron’s fictional universe in Avatar, showcases a completely revolutionary form of interaction between human, machine and nature. This ground-breaking human-machine merge was the focus of the stand presentation at CES.

 

Mercedes-Benz not only looked far into the automotive future in Las Vegas – for the first time, a rare opportunity was offered to experience the VISION AVTR up close and even interact with it. As an additional bonus, the designers from Mercedes-Benz and Disney (Lightstorm Entertainment) were on hand to serve as explainers.

 

The ‘Inspire’ exhibition area marked the start of an exciting customer journey, which proved so popular that many trade fair attendees queued for hours to experience it. There, visitors could find extensive background information about the vehicle displayed on seven large columns, elucidating such features as its striking woodsprite wheels, revolutionary battery technology and vegan DINAMICA® seat leather. Design sketches were also on display, offering insights into the creation process behind the concept study. To further heighten the anticipation of experiencing this visionary electric car in person, the VISION AVTR was not yet completely visible in the ‘Inspire’ area.

 

The »Excite« area provided a climax to the presentation: Visitors were enveloped in a multi-sensory experience of light, smoke, music and vehicle. Excitement was already generated on the approach to the VISION AVTR: Just like an animal that cocks its ears, the concept vehicle »greeted« visitors by means of 33 wing flaps across its rear section, which moved and were illuminated organically.

 

The »Immerse« area gave a final curtain call on the customer journey. There, trade fair attendees were given the unique opportunity to actually sit in a seat box of the VISION AVTR – a very special and completely immersive experience, as media content was also projected onto a screen in front of the vehicle. The main screen of the AVTR thus combined reality with a cinematic world to create a unprecedented trade fair experience.

Client

Daimler AG

Location

Las Vegas

Year

2020

Photography

Andreas Keller Fotografie

Awards

Engadet: "Best of Show" Slashgear: "Best of Show" GeekSpin: "Best of Show"

CES Las Vegas 2020  

Mercedes-Benz »VISION AVTR«

 
  • mb_ces2020_017
  • mb_ces2020_012
  • mb_ces2020_22
  • mb_ces2020_011
  • mb_ces2020_015
  • mb_ces2020_045
  • mb_ces2020_051
  • mb_ces2020_069
  • mb_ces2020_016
  • mb_ces2020_21
  • mb_ces2020_085
  • mb_ces2020_019

CES Las Vegas 2020

Mercedes-Benz »VISION AVTR«

Zum sechsten Mal in Folge gestaltet jangled nerves für Mercedes-Benz den Auftritt auf der Innovationsmesse CES in Las Vegas. Mit der Inszenierung des wegweisenden Konzeptfahrzeugs VISION AVTR gelang der perfekte Brückenschlag von Unterhaltungselektronik- zu Automotivthemen. Das Interesse der Medien und Besucher an dem von Mercedes-Benz Designchef Gorden Wagener, seinem Team und einer Disney-Crew entwickelten Auto war riesengroß. Noch während die CES lief, heimste der Messestand diverse Best-of-Show-Awards ein, unter anderem von den US-Tech-Portalen Engadget, Shlashgear und Geekspin.

 

Der VISION AVTR verkörpert die Vision der Mercedes-Benz Designer, Ingenieure und Trendforscher für die Mobilität der Zukunft. Darüber hinaus zeigt das von Hollywood-Regisseur James Cameron und seiner fiktiven Avatar-Filmwelt »Pandora« inspirierte Hightech-Automobil eine völlig neue Art der Interaktion zwischen Mensch, Maschine und Natur. Der bahnbrechende Human-Machine Merge stand im Zentrum der CES-Inszenierung.

 

In Las Vegas blickte Mercedes-Benz nicht nur weit in die automobile Zukunft – hier bot sich erstmals die seltene Gelegenheit, den VISION AVTR nicht nur aus der Nähe zu erleben, sondern mit ihm auch zu interagieren. Obendrein standen als Explainer die Designer aus den Häusern Mercedes-Benz und Disney (Lightstorm Entertainment) zur Verfügung!

 

Den Auftakt einer spannenden Customer Journey, für die viele Messebesucher sogar stundenlang anstanden, bildete der Ausstellungsbereich »Inspire«. Dort fanden Besucher auf sieben großen Stelen umfangreiche Background-Infos zum Fahrzeug, etwa zu den auffallenden »Woodsprite Wheels«, der revolutionären Batterietechnologie oder zum veganen DINAMICA®-Sitzleder. Darüber hinaus konnte man hier Designskizzen entdecken, die Einblicke in den Entstehungsprozess der Konzeptstudie ermöglichen. Um die Vorfreude zu steigern, das visionäre E-Auto danach live zu erleben, war der VISION AVTR im »Inspire«-Bereich nicht komplett zu sehen.

 

Für den inszenatorischen Höhepunkt sorgte der »Excite«-Bereich: Messebesucher tauchten dort in ein multisensorisches Erlebnis aus Licht, Nebel, Musik und Fahrzeug ein. Das »Excitement« begann dort bereits, wenn man sich dem VISION AVTR näherte: Wie bei einem Tier, das die Ohren aufstellt, »begrüßte« einen das Konzeptfahrzeug mit 33 Flügelklappen auf seinem Heck, die sich »organisch« bewegten und leuchteten.

 

Als Abschluss der Customer Journey diente das Areal »Immerse«. Dort hatten Messebesucher die Gelegenheit, sich erstmals in eine Sitzkiste des VISION AVTR zu begeben – ein besonderes, komplett immersives Erlebnis, da mediale Inhalte zusätzlich nach außen auf eine Leinwand vor dem Automobil projiziert wurden. Der Hauptbildschirm des AVTR verband so die Realität und die Filmwelt zu einem einzigartigen Messeerlebnis.

Auftraggeber

Daimler AG

Ort

Las Vegas

Jahr

2020

Fotografie

Andreas Keller Fotografie

Awards

Engadet: "Best of Show" Slashgear: "Best of Show" GeekSpin: "Best of Show"